A True King of a Man

I went to bed last night with the thoughts of the amazing and beautiful blood moon that my husband and I had spent the evening viewing, and I woke up this morning with the thought of an amazing and great man who heroically bled for his country and for his beliefs…Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

20190120_214444
A photo of the blood moon last night taken with our phone

Happy Martin Luther King Day!  I hope you all will not look at this day as just a bonus day off.  It is so much more than that.  I pray you will celebrate the day and honor this brave man who was only 39 years-old and left behind a wife and four young children when he was assassinated on April 4, 1968 for standing up for justice, for standing up for his beliefs, for standing up for equality, for standing up for freedom…

kisspng-assassination-of-martin-luther-king-jr-african-am-martin-luther-king-jr-day-5b30a3e34d0c66.1854621715299143393156.png
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  January 15, 1929-April 4, 1968

I am sure you have already been inundated with MLK articles and quotes that are being posted all over the internet today…so I am sorry for one more…but how could I ignore this day and this man?  How could I let the day go by without acknowledging and honoring this man and the movement he led, and the important part he played in American history?  To have posted a recipe, a funny grand-kid story, or a creative idea instead would have felt shameful.  So here is to you Dr. King…a true King of a man!

MLK skin color.jpg

I love this quote!  I grew up in a military family so my entire life I was surrounded by people of just about every nationality and every color.  I love that I grew up this way.  I love that my mom and dad raised us to believe that skin color did not matter and that we were to treat everyone equally.  They taught us to look at a person’s heart and character.  Thanks mom and dad for raising us this way.  In turn, I also raised my kids this way and they are raising my grand-kids this way.  Love.

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed:  “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.”   MLK

Following is a little Eggology.  Racism and Equality explained just like that!

20190121_153236.jpg20190121_153540.jpg

EGGOLOGY CONCEPT:   We may have different skin colors and look different on the outside just like these eggs, but on the inside we are all the same, just like these eggs.  We are equal…no differences.  Boom!

I don’t know if you have ever experienced racism, but it is ugly!  If I have, I wasn’t really aware of it at the time.  But my dad has and it is hurtful.  I always admired my dad because he never let other people get him down.  He just smiled and treated everyone very nice and hospitable.  And many people who had ever discriminated against him were won over by his personality, hard work, and character.  My dad lived by the concepts of the three MLK quotes below.

MLK Love Enemy.jpg

 

“I have decided to stick with love.  Hate is too great a burden to bear.”   MLK

 

mlk love & hate

I encourage you to spend this day honoring this great man.  If you were taught hate and racism make every effort to change.  Take the time today to discuss racism and equality with your kids or grand-kids.  Educate them so they will not foster an attitude of racism and hate.  Do the above egg demonstration with them in order to give them a great visual.  This is also a good time to ask them what their dreams are.

Break the Cycle.jpg

Dr. King has so many great quotes I wish I could share them all, but I have to get out the door soon so I will just list a few more.

MLK fly.jpg

 

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”   MLK

 

kisspng-martin-luther-king-jr-memorial-where-do-we-go-fro-mlk-cliparts-5aaa9ead2807e2.733028851521131181164.png
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. giving his famous ‘I Have a Dream’ speech at the March on Washington on August 28, 1963

“If I cannot do great things, I can do small things in a great way.”   MLK

I hope you enjoyed this post honoring a great man who made an incredible impact on our nation.  If you have never read his ‘I Have a Dream’ speech or haven’t read it since high school I encourage you to do so.  It is so good.  I have typed it out and attached the link below.  Please read it, you will be glad you did!  Thank you Dr. King!

kisspng-assassination-of-martin-luther-king-jr-african-am-5b2a5e9e6b9990.7146568215295033904407

mlk i have a dream speech

Have a fun flippin’ day,

Deb McLennon, the Fun Flippin’ Grammy

DSC_0402 (2)

 

 

 

Leave a comment